HamNation and Slot Antennas

The current QST has an interesting article on using a DirecTV satellite dish as a 2-meter antenna.  Possibly a great solution for hams bound by CCRs.  John Portune, W6NBC has a very interesting video out showing much more detail than seen in QST.  He even has a very unusual slot antenna that can be mounted to the roof of a car or RV. (no it does NOT look like a dish!)  Watch the entire video here, beginning 20 minutes into the show.       HamNation on TWIT

Posted in Site News | Leave a comment

More on Digital Radio

If you have been curious about digital radio on the VHF / UHF bands but not yet decided to “jump in”, this may be of interest to you.  Connect Systems has been offering DMR equipment at fairly affordable prices.  They have recently announced plans to offer a unit that will cover both DMR and D-star with the same radio.  If you like very steep learning curves this may be for you!

Read more about it here:  http://www.va3xpr.net/connect-systems-president-jerry-wanger-announces-plans-to-launch-a-combo-dmr-d-star-radio/

Posted in Site News | Leave a comment

W6CO Echolink update

Update 12/19
Off-Line.   http://napasars.net/repeaters/#Echolink

Posted in Site News | Leave a comment

2015 Field Day Scores are in:

ARRL has posted the Field Day Scores.  W6CO can claim 7th place out of a field of 24.
See the data base here: ARRL Data Base

Posted in Site News | Leave a comment

HamNation

An interesting podcast or live internet broadcast (depending on when you tune in) can be found weekly on Wednesday evenings at 7PM.  Conflict with the SARS net?  Tune in later.

HamNation  or  just go to twit.com

Oct 21st 2015

HAM NATION 219

THE BRAND NEW COMET ANALYZER

Bob Heil demos the Comet CAA 500 Analyzer.
Records live every Wednesday at 9:00pm Eastern / 6:00pm Pacific / 01:00 UTC
Posted in Site News | Leave a comment